Where did the Baby Easter Bonnets go?

Standard

Ask me what I remember from Easter as a child? I remember candy, baskets and HATS!!!! Every year I got a new dress and a HAT to wear to church because on Easter you could wear a hat to church. I was a girly girl and these girly hats were fab, so admittedly I was a little more than excited to have a baby girl this Easter to buy an Easter bonnet for. Don’t get me wrong I appreciate the whole resurrection thing as well but being a wayward sinful christian I might be a little more focused on the hats right now,I mean we want to look fab when attending church and celebrating the resurrection, there’s nothing wrong with looking fab. Anyway, I was beyond disappointed when my hunt for a baby easter bonnet came up empty-handed. While there are tons of Easter hats out there for little girls, maybe ages 2 and up, there are no Easter bonnets for babies. I’ve tried the major department stores and even big box retailers without any luck. Do babies no longer wear bonnets to church on Easter, maybe I’m just old-fashioned.  If not, where did all the Easter bonnets go? I guess we will have to settle for the matching hair bow that goes with her dress. Even my online searches didn’t come up with much, a few vintage bonnets on Etsy and lots of crochet hats that aren’t really bonnets or even Eastery in any way.

Finally last night, I found the most fabulous bonnets ever!!!! Unfortunately not in time for Easter, nor are they technically Easter bonnets, that’s still one mystery I don’t have the answer too, which means I am going to have to somehow rationalize spending way too much money on a bonnet, although I’m banking that they offer fabulous sun protection, because let’s be honest, these are RIDICULOUS as in RIDICULOUSLY ADORABLE…and all babies should have one because damn it, bonnets are making a comeback.

(Photo Credit: Urban Baby Bonnets)

* Edited to add: If it wasn’t obvious given my whining about the price, Urban Baby Bonnets in no way paid for me to mention their bonnets/sponsored this post, nor have they provided me with a bonnet, for all I know the bonnets are far less fab in person although I doubt it, but if I buy one I’ll let you know and take a picture of Pippa in it, because again, as previously stated my personal opinion is they’re ridiculously adorable*

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Sashaying With Easter Bonnets « Big Apple Dayze

  2. I don�t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  3. I come from a family of hat wearers. Is that a word? My dad was a clothing salesman and he had a line of hats and gloves most of my childhood. All winter we had a hat/glove drawer in the kitchen for all five of us and our friends to grab and go. The best hill was our front yard so this worked out great. Having a kind mom helped too. Oh but look out when Easter rolled around. All the girls could come and pick for free a sample that just went out of the line. We had headbands galore. Did I mention lovely white gloves too? When we talk childhood memories, my dads livelihood always comes up. When we were becoming teens, a great coat/jacket line came to be. Parents were thrilled at the great price (they got them at cost). Thanks for your blog. I am searching for a two year old granddaughters Easter Hat and came across you. Happy Hatting !

  4. I always looked forward to my Easter dress and bonnet too. Its a tradition that seems to have died down. One of those things of old America that retired. Sad.

Leave a comment