Hello world!

Standard

“Genius is more often found in a cracked pot than a whole one!” -E.B. White

Somehow I feel like E.B. White may not have had the exclamation point at the end, but I feel it’s important. To whittle this down, I think it really means who the H is perfect and why the H would you want to be. So welcome to our family, our perfectly little cracked pot, because while most definitely not perfect, most days I wouldn’t change a thing.

That means that most days are spent wrangling a 2 year old while trying to pay attention to a 5 month old, keeping track of the zoo, 2 hound dogs, 2 naughty cats and a partridge in a pear tree and trying to keep some semblence of sanity and a minimal level of hygiene. OK so mayyyyybeeeee there’s not the partridge, but I assure you it’s a zoo nonetheless. As a former full time working mother, I must admit, I thought you stay at home moms had it easier. This is working mother lie number 1, it makes us feel better about leaving our children at daycare, or at least it did for me. When I realized that not only did I not love being a lawyer but I had the rest of my life to not love being a lawyer, I did what any young lawyer mama with a mountain of student loan debt and an understanding employer would do, I went down to two days a week after the birth of Philippa aka “Pippa” my second bambino, who trailed her brother’s birth by a very short 19 months.

Now I leave the chaos that is being a mostly stay at home mom for a workcation two days a week, where I’m constantly waiting for someone to yell “NO MINE” “Me Have Some” at me, but utterly enjoy the silence that is my office and the ability to pee on my own. Welcome to my cracked pot.

Leave a Reply

